Skip to main content

Eichinger named 150th Anniversary Professor


The Office of the Provost has named David Eichinger, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, and Charles "Chuck" Krousgrill, professor of mechanical engineering, as 150th Anniversary Professors to recognize their achievements in teaching at Purdue.

Ten faculty will be named as inaugural 150th Anniversary Professors to coincide with the upcoming 150th anniversary of Purdue. Faculty who achieve this new designation also will receive an annual discretionary allocation of $25,000.

“The 150th Anniversary Professors have played a significant role in enhancing the lives of their students through their exceptional teaching, mentorship and innovation,” says Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity. “Our students are so fortunate to have such talented educators in the classroom.”

Eichinger has led continual improvements in the teaching, practice, curriculum and training of students studying to become science teachers. He is a Fulbright Scholar, a recipient of the Charles B. Murphy Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching and a member of the Teaching Academy. He has won the University Student Government Excellence in Teaching Award and the School of Education Outstanding Service Award. He also has earned department awards in both the Biological Sciences and Curriculum and Instruction departments.

“He spends time ensuring you are developing and evolving as a future educator and global citizen by instilling the qualities and skills of one, including hard work, critical thinking, and collaboration and communication,” said a former student of Eichinger.

James Jones, Jay Gore, Chuck Krousgrill, Jay Akridge, Mung Chiang, and Peter Hollenbeck
(From left) James Jones, associate head and associate professor of mechanical engineering; Jay Gore, associate head of graduate studies and the Vincent P. Reilly Professor in Combustion Engineering; Chuck Krousgrill, professor of mechanical engineering; Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity; Mung Chiang, the John A. Edwardson Dean of the College of Engineering; and Peter Hollenbeck, vice provost for faculty affairs. (Purdue University photo/John Underwood) Download image

Krousgrill is a national and international leader in mechanical engineering and has received more than $2 million in mechanical engineering teaching development grants from the National Science Foundation, AT&T Foundation, GE Foundation, Amoco Foundation and Hewlett-Packard. He has earned seven H.L. Solberg Best Teaching Awards from the School of Mechanical Engineering, and three A.A. Potter Best Teacher Awards from the College of Engineering. He received the Charles B. Murphy Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching and is a member of the Teaching Academy and Purdue’s Book of Great Teachers. He also has received the Special Boilermaker Award, the Helping Students Learn Award and the national Archie Higdon Distinguished Educator Award, Mechanics Division, American Society of Engineering Education.

Anil Bajaj, the William E. and Florence E. Perry Head of Mechanical Engineering and Alpha P. Jamison Professor of Mechanical Engineering, noted Krousgrill’s “extraordinary dedication to student learning, his ability to connect easily with students, [and] his innovative spirit in exploring emerging technologies.”

The principal criteria for selection as a 150th Anniversary Professor included:

* Development or transformation of courses and/or curricula.

* Receipt of Purdue teaching awards at the department/school, college and university level (i.e., Murphy Award or election to the Teaching Academy).

* History of outstanding teaching evaluations from faculty peers, students and/or alumni.

Other considerations included mentoring and contributing to the academic, career and personal development of students within and outside the classroom, as evidenced by one or more the following:

* History of outstanding mentoring evaluations from faculty peers, students or alumni

* Receipt of unit, college or university awards for student mentoring.

* Sustained involvement as an advisor or mentor to student organizations (e.g., academic clubs, university clubs, club sports, student initiatives).

The 150th Anniversary Professors were selected by a committee of 13 senior faculty who are distinguished and named professors, winners of the Murphy Award, and members of the Teaching Academy. The inaugural 150th Anniversary Professorships will be funded by the Provost’s Office until donors are found to endow these named professorships.

Read more.

Purdue University Biological Sciences, 915 Mitch Daniels Boulevard, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Main Office: (765) 494-4408   Business Office: (765) 494-4764  Contact Us

© 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.

Maintained by Science IT