2016 - 2017 Faculty and Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards

College of Science Distinguished Science Alumni

  • Dr. Reid Leonard, Ph. D. Neuroscience 1985

College of Science Oustanding Alumni

  • Gayle C. Johnson BS Biology 1976
  • Julie Overbeck, BS Biology 1975

Faculty Awards

Faculty Promotions

Promoted from Associate Professor to Full Professor: Daniel Suter

 J. Alfred & Martha Chiscon Undergraduate Teaching Award

Department's highest teaching award to recognize the importance of undergraduate teaching in the Department of Biological Sciences. This award is given to members of the department who have shown excellence in the instruction of undergraduates taking departmental courses in the 100-500 levels. Faculty members & laboratory coordinators are eligible to receive the award.

Thomas Walter

Instructional Equipment Grant

Investments that transform courses serving a large numbers of students.

Donna Fekete and Nancy Pelaez

Smith - Neurge Award

Annual award in honor of Robert W. Smith for students &/or employees to recognize unusual service, dedication and or loyalty to the Department of Biological Sciences

Becky Harding

Favorite Faculty Award Nominee

Purdue students nominate those faculty members who work to bridge the gap between academics and connecting with their students.

David Bridges – Most Distinguished Faculty for Academics and Most Outstanding Faculty

Dennis Minchella – Most Outstanding Faculty

Mark Browning – Most Distinguished Faculty for Academics

Seema Mattoo – Most Distinguished Faculty for Academics

Regina Shannon – Most Distinguished Faculty for Academics

Zhao-Qing Luo – Most Distinguished Faculty for Research

 Inaugural Belcher Chair for Environmental Sustainability

Jeff Dukes

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Fellowship

Stanton Gelvin

 JSAPS long-term Fellowship

Stanton Gelvin

 2016-2017 PRF International Travel Grant

Stanton Gelvin

Wen Jiang

 Inducted as an Honorary (faculty) Member of Purdue Chapters of the Alpha Lambda Delta and Phi Beta Sigma Honor Societies

Donna Fekete

 Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics

Michael Rossmann

 2017 Microbiology Society Prize Medal

Michael Rossmann

 Gregor Mendel Medal

Michael Rossmann

 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow

William Cramer

 American Society of Plant Biology Fellow

Daniel Szymanski

 Sigma XI, Midcareer Research Award

Claudio Aguilar

 Purdue University Early Care and Education Center, Dedicated Morris Levy Playground

Morris Levy

College of Science Merit Awards


Graduate Student Mentoring Award

This award recognizes excellence by the College of Science in the mentoring of graduate students.

Daniel Suter

 Leadership Award

This award recognizes leadership in the College of Science departments and units.

Ximena Bernal

 Team Award

This award recognizes efforts by teams by College of Science faculty or staff.

Nick Noinaj & Angeline Lyon

 Diversity Award

This award recognizes excellence in leadership that improves the environment for faculty, staff and students and promotes diversity and inclusiveness in the College of Science

Lou Sherman

 Undergraduate Advising Award

This award recognizes College of Science faculty or staff who excel in the advising and mentoring of undergraduate students.

Evie Orick


Purdue University Biological Sciences, 915 W. State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Main Office: (765) 494-4408   Business Office: (765) 494-4764  Contact Us

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.

Maintained by Science IT