Archive for the ‘Nobel prize’ Category

was awarded jointly to Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian K. Kobilka

for studies of G-protein-coupled receptors

was awarded jointly to Sir John Gurdon and Shinya Yamnaka

for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent

They also won the Lasker Award in 2009.


The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2011 was awarded to Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity, and Ralph M. Steinman for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity. A press release about the basic findings can be found here.

Bruce A. Beutler

Jules A. Hoffmann

Ralph M. Steinman











Update 1:  On 10/13/2011, our lab had a journal club on one of the original key publications – Steinman RM, Witmer MD. Lymphoid dendritic cells are potent stimulators of the primary mixed leukocyte reaction in mice. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 1978 Oct;75(10):5132-6. PubMed PMID: 154105; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC336278.

Update 2: Ralph Steinman passed away the Friday before the prize announcement. There are a few interesting news articles on his hard work until the final days and effort on designing new therapies based on his discovery.

From Reuters: Insight: Nobel winner’s last big experiment: Himself

From BBC: Nobel winner Ralph Steinman’s quest to cure cancer – including his own

Update 3: 10/29/2011. A news article from Nature.

Gravitz L. A fight for life that united a field. Nature. 2011 Oct 11;478(7368):163-4. doi: 10.1038/478163a. PubMed PMID: 21993732.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010 was awarded to Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi, Akira Suzuki “for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis”. And Ei-ichi Negishi is in the Department of Chemistry at our institute, i.e Purdue!

Richard F. Heck. Photo: University of Delaware, USA

Ei-ichi Negishi. Photo: Purdue University, USA

Akira Suzuki. Photo: Hokkaido University, Japan

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2010 was awarded to Robert G. Edwards “for the development of in vitro fertilization”.

Photo: Sheikh Hamdan Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Award for Medical Sciences